a l’allure garconniere turns two!

i’m kind of cheating this whole anniversary business. technically, my first official post was on september 28th, 2009 but it wasn’t until mid october that i wrote my call to arms for why we need feminist fashion blogs. so let’s call it even and say MY BLOG TURNS TWO TODAY. yay!

happy birthday - a l'allure garconnière turns two!that isn’t to say that i’ve only been blogging for two years; readers who know me well know i’ve been sharing bits and pieces of my life online for over a decade. before social media, before everyone and their dog had a facebook, back when most people who spent hours online every day were posting in chat rooms, message boards or journals. but it wasn’t until two years ago, after years of mulling over the idea, that i decided to create a blog with a specific raison d’être – to confront oppressive fashion norms through a critical feminist lens.

since then, i’ve written 92 posts, received hundreds of comments and tens of thousands of hits. i moved from blogspot to wordpress and feel more at home here than ever. i’ve guest posted on Shameless, at WORN journal, and been linked by countless others. i’ve felt proud, excited, and yes, at times disheartened… and frustrated… and shitty. on more than a few occasions, i have considered closing my doors; more because of the good side rather than the bad. when i first thought of starting this blog, it was because it felt like no one out there was encouraging young fashion lovers online to think critically about what they consume. i am happy to say that it seems like more and more critical fashion blogs are coming into the fray. for some reason, starting conversations about sexism, racism, classism, etc. in fashion is a lot easier when you feel like you’re not the only one who feels that way. blogs like threadbared, fashion for writers, definatalie, and countless others remind me i’m not alone and push me to write better articles. so, sometimes it feels like my goal was accomplished (with or without me) and that perhaps this fun ride is over.

i don’t think it’s over. i am a lot busier, working full-time these days and it is increasingly difficult to devote as much time and energy to this project as i would like, but i don’t think that means i should pull the plug. rather, i think i need to revisit my manifesta and focus what kind of space i want this to be.

that’s where you come in.

one of my initial goals with this blog was so start conversations, to get more feedback from my readers, to engage with you. yet, i haven’t been good with responding to emails, questions, concerns, etc. so now’s your chance!

what do you want to see more of?

what do you want from à l’allure garçonnière?

please fill out this survey!

to give you a wee bit more incentive to fill out this short 10 question survey, if you fill it out and then comment here, your name will be entered into a draw to win a prize.

a purple box that reads - kindly fill out this survey for your chance to win!the prize will be your choice of:

  1. a mailed package of a typewritten letter from me to you along with a handmade mix CD
  2. a skype drink date with me to talk about whatever you want for a half an hour
  3. or – you get to pick what topic i write about next at à l’allure garçonnière!

that would be so awesome if even a quarter of the people reading this let me know what they think! yes, this project is mostly for me, but it’s a whole lot for my readers too.

so, fill out the survey, and comment here saying you filled it out! i will enter all the names in a draw, and give the random winner their choice of a prize. the draw will be done on saturday, so you have until FRIDAY, OCTOBER 21st to fill it out and comment here!

i’d also like to take this opportunity to do a short overview of what i’ve been doing here for the past two years.

recommended reading:

by far my most popular article has been the critical fashion lover’s guide to cultural appropriation. since then, i’ve been linked by many blogs and tumblrs who are actively working towards debunking racist stereotypes. and around halloween, i get more hits than you can count from people looking for “indian princess costumes”

coming in a close second is my interview for worn journal with holly norris and jes sasche about their project american able. why does fashion have to give you complexes? it completely took off, and i don’t think i’ve ever really taken credit for breaking that story (WORN published my article on may 5th, and soon it was being talked about everywhere).

i’d love to hear what your favourite of my articles are. don’t forget, i have a handy dandy writing tab up at the top there that is a portfolio of sorts.

other than that, i thought i’d share the most ridiculous search results that bring some visitors to my site. my personal favourites:

coming in at my number one search result – hairy armpits club

julia roberts hairy armpits

tall woman short man red carpet

women who enjoy smoking large cigars

fist city

whatever your fetish, you are welcome here, dear reader. happy birthday!

p.s. – did you notice i freshened up around here? what do you think of the new layout/colour scheme? hope you like it!

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “a l’allure garconniere turns two!

  1. Happy blogiversary! I filled out the survey and hope the feedback is useful.

  2. I filled out the survey! My explanation for how I found you was a bit long-winded because I can’t quite remember. Sorry ’bout that! Looking forward to many years down the road 🙂

  3. Karyn

    Happy Anniversary! I’m always happy to see you post new things, even though I usually don’t have anything to say.

    I filled out your survey. (Not just because I want a skype date or anything.)

  4. Hi Julia! I took the survey 🙂 Keep up the awesome work! ~Anna

  5. cyn

    I took the survey, look forward to your future posts.

  6. sassyfrasscircus

    I filled it out! And all I want in life is a letter from you.

  7. I did it! I want mail. if i don’t win can we be penpals anyway?

    • i am the WORST penpal (i literally am sitting next to a stack of 6 letters i’ve been meaning to write back to for… months, and countless postcards i owe responses to) so i can’t commit, but it never hurts to email me your mailing address! 🙂

      thanks devon!

    • Kind of creepy, but if you’re looking for semi-anonymous penpals, I am always game for one! You can get it touch with me via email or check out my Tumblr to see if you’re interested.

  8. Took the survey–happy anniversary!

  9. Happy anniversary! Took the survey.

  10. Emma

    Hi! I filled out the survey! Hope my lovely advice is helpful:)

  11. I filled out the survey — thanks for the chance to give some feedback!

  12. Em

    I filled out your survey! Hope it helps. 🙂

  13. i filled it out! happy blogversary!

  14. Happy anniversary, m’dear. I filled it out awhile ago, but I s’pose I should comment, too.

  15. I didn’t realize I had to comment, haha! I filled the survey out a while ago.

  16. E

    I filled it out! :’D

  17. Andi B. Goode

    Can’t believe it took me so long to do the survey/comment here. Darn my forgetful brain. But happy blog birthday! I can’t believe it’s been two years. Gosh.
    -Andi x

  18. Andi B. Goode

    PS I think it’s still Friday in Canada. Also think my feedback wasn’t particularly insightful as I’ve just woken up (& was dreaming about dolls all night?) but still think reader surveys are a great idea 🙂

  19. I just filled out your survey (never having commented before, actually)!

Leave a Reply

