2014: Year in Review

Phew. This one’s a doozy.

Some standout things from 2014: I travelled more than I ever have before – a trip to Copenhagen in the spring, Gaspé in the summer, and Paris in the fall. I also spent more time alone in my own city, and think I got better at finding the joy in that.

I saw three of my all-time favourite artists – Godspeed You! Black Emperor, The Knife, St. Vincent – and enjoyed each performance in different ways. I was reinvigorated by live music in a way I hadn’t been in years. It felt good.

As I noted earlier, I also spent far less time online. I’ve pretty much stopped talking outfit photos altogether – which may not sound like such a big deal, but this is coming from someone who used to faithfully contribute to #ootd groups, almost daily, for months. That takes dedication and diligence! It’s just not my thing anymore.

Now for the nitty gritty. If you’re a longtime reader, you know how this goes. If not, it’s pretty straightforward: scroll to see 12 pictures of my face, accompanied by a brief summary of what went on in my life that month, paired with recommended reading/listening.

If you’re new here, here’s 2013 – 2012 – 2011.

I put three stars next to the pieces I find ***Flawless.

January

A woman wearing glasses looks upwards. A banner painted on the wall reads FEMME, which means woman in French but also femme as in queer as in gay ;)

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Sylvan Esso – Coffee

February

A selfie of the author wearing a Doctorak t-shirt that is a punk design of Deleuze and Guattari

  • Mourned the loss of Stuart Hall, revisited some of my foundational texts/artworks
  • Was pretty shaken up by the murder of Loretta Saunders
  • Was pretty enraged by Woody Allen apologists

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Cloudbusting (Kate Bush cover) by Benoit Pioulard and The Body Electric by Hurray for the Riff Raff

March

A selfie taken in my living room, with the opening credits from Věra Chytilová's 1966 film Sedmikrásky

A selfie taken in my living room, with the opening credits from Věra Chytilová’s 1966 film Sedmikrásky

  • Vera Chitlova died. Rewatched her films.
  • Went to meet up with best friend Morgan in Copenhagen
  • Went to see Angel Olsen together ❤
  • Started using Instagram
  • Was pretty overwhelmed by stories of murdered and missing Indigenous women across Canada
  • Loved the resistance online that took shape in the form of #sealfies

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Perfect Pussy (also listen to this interview with the Arcade, so good!)

April

The author posing at Le Knock-Out on Record Store Day 2014 with her copy of Singer Songer by Michael Feuerstack

  • Saw and loved Come Worry With Us!
  • Was completely obsessed with Nathanael’s Sisyphus, Outdone.: Theatres of the Catastrophal like nobody’s business
  • Made a short film
  • Wanted the endless winter to end

Recommended Reading

On Repeat: Babylon by SZA (feat. Kendrick Lamar) – We Fuckin’ Rule by By Divine Right – Real Thing by tUnE-yArDs

May

05-May

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Sharon Van Etten – Are We There (and for most of 2014) – Sylvan Esso – S/T – Downtown Boys

June

  • Fell back in love with my bike. Adventured.
  • Celebrated summer! Swimming! Outside!

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Habit by Ought

July

07-July

  • Biked to Wendake! (which is like 50 km aka impressive for me)
  • Went to see a lot of great live music – namely St. Vincent
  • Wrote this.
  • Thought a lot about this photograph, about violence. Read too much Sontag.

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Shinedoe feat. Karin Dreijer – Discourse My New Romance

August

08-August

  • Took care of myself by taking a summer vacation for the first time in 4 years. Summer! Vacation!
  • My heart broke for Tina Fontaine. Then again for Michael Brown.
  • Thought a lot about smashing the state. Read a lot to keep the bad feelings at bay.

Recommended Reading:

On repeat: Lauryn Hill – Black Rage

September

Julia posing next to her 1963 Mercury Meteor

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Ibeyi – River

Mirel Wagner – No Death

Tanya Tagaq – Animism

Jennifer Castle – Pink City

October

A film photograph taken of the author in CImetière St. Matthews in Quebec City

  • No getting around it, October was a no-good awful month.
  • Only good things I can think of include reading Men Explain Things To Me, loved it, wanted to lend it to everyone right away.
  • Left the country and the dread and joined my love in Paris.

Recommended Reading

On repeat: Grouper – Ruins – Ruth – Polaroid Roman Photo

November

10-November

  • Found the joy in solitude
  • Saw Mike Brodie’s photographs in Paris
  • Thought about Retheah Parsons.
  • Was infuriated by Eric Garner’s murderer going free, listened to the outragerelated to this.
  • Saw Godspeed You! Black Emperor, a band I had wanted to see for over a decade.
  • Felt mostly like there were so many things to be angry about.

Recommended Reading:

On repeat: The Weather Station – What Am I Going to do with Everything I Know

December

12-December

  • Won small successes at work
  • Relished in compliments
  • Started working on some long-term projects I have high hopes for in 2015

Recommended Reading:

On repeat: Seasons Change (Waiting on You) – Future Islands (Badbadnotgood reinterpretation)

Michael Feuerstack – Clackity Clack

julia-sunset summer-meteor-2014

Happy New Year.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “2014: Year in Review

  1. Ana Mendieta is awesome! In fact, just the other night I have a vision about her and woke up to write an outline of my dissertation which now includes her for the last chapter. And, a very important question: where did you get the Deleuze and Guattari t-shirt???

Leave a comment