2013: year in review

Two weeks into 2014, I’ve still got my neck craned, looking back on the year past. And in my mind, if writers and critics can publish their “best of 2013” lists in November, I can publish mine a whole 2 weeks into the new year.

It’s times like these when I miss the days of faithfully writing in my (live)journal almost every day. I have definitely fallen out of the habit of dilligently documenting my life, but still relish in reflecting: stepping back at least once a year to take stock of my accomplishments, my failures. On what has changed, and what hasn’t.

2013 was eventful, to say the least.

If you’re a longtime reader, you know how this goes. Scroll down below to see 12 pictures of my face, accompanied by a brief summary of what went on in my life that month, paired with recommended reading/listening.

If you’re new here, here’s 2012 and 2011.

I put three stars next to the pieces I find ***Flawless.
julia-blue

January:

  • My cat Louise moved into my house and my heart
  • Dealt with a lot of stress at work
  • Was frustrated by a lot of political issues, namely media coverage of Idle No More, and you know, the usual I’m always writing about here.
  • Was completely enamored with Caroline Polachek for a hot minute

Recommended Reading:

02-Feb

February:

Recommended Reading:

I was babely in the month of March so you get two photos:

Julia poses in front of old books in Quebec City's historic Morrin Centre

feminist fuck you

March:

  • Said goodbye to a very important mentor in my (radio makin’) life
  • Admired the awesome new graffiti in my neighbourhood
  • Cheered on Simon has he published a phenomenal new book, Mélanie.
  • Cried my heart out when Jason Molina passed
  • Cut my hair real short again and had lots of feelings/questions about gender

Recommended Reading:

S0031986

April:

  • Visited my family in Trenton for the last time before they moved
  • Spent a lot of time thinking about place, home, dis/location
  • Was fascinated and terrified by rape culture, consumed far too much media about it…
  • Listened to excessive amounts of Mykki Blanco
  • Read that piece by Ariana Reines again and again and again
  • Enjoyed freakishly warm temperatures

Recommended Reading:

Such great heights

May:

  • Was really really pissed by tragedy in Bangladesh
  • Enjoyed my partner’s newly acquired 1963 Mercury Meteor a lot
  • Became really interested by sound art

Recommended Reading:

06-June

June:

  • Was pretty sad all the time
  • Thought a lot about this

Recommended Reading:

july 2013

July:

  • Worked a lot, challenged myself
  • Started spending too much time/money at the new record shop
  • Met Nadège
  • Went out lots of amazing little weekend roadtrips in our Meteor
  • Found my dream house for sale
  • Worked too much

Recommended Reading:

August 2013

August:

  • Iris came to visit
  • Went to Sappyfest (after years of saying I would, finally!)
  • Went swimming in the OCEAN
  • Drove more in one day than I ever had before (I learned how to drive in 2013!)
  • Got a flat tire
  • …and then spent the rest of the month working way too much.
  • Oh yeah! Hosted a lovely house show

Recommended Reading:

Septembre - Palais des Papes

September:

  • (proposed) charter charter charter charter (of “Quebec values”)
  • MARSEILLES!
  • Seeing Louise Bourgeois and Kiki Smith pieces in the Palais des Papes, par hazard
  • On my way back from France, a 5-day pit stop in Montreal
  • Going to see the expos at Musée McCord with Karina, loved Wearing our Identity
  • Spent a lot of time thinking about pop culture criticism

Recommended Reading:

trois-rivieres

October:

  • Worked a lot.
  • Saw La Corriveau’s cage
  • Read… a lot.

Recommended Reading:

novembre

November:

Recommended Reading:

dec

December:

  • Went to Toronto for work for the first time ever
  • Met some of my radio heroes
  • Spent (quality) time with great old friends
  • BEYONCÉ
  • Accomplished some major goals
  • The Atlantic called me “an inquisitive Canadian researcher
  • Walked along my favourite beach in Petawawa on a winter’s night with my parents

Recommended Reading:

Happy new year.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “2013: year in review

  1. andrea

    This was a great year in review, I’ve bookmarked several articles I missed (or want to revisit)!
    I have a kind of technical question: how do you organize your reading? I mean, do you use something to keep track of everything? I’ve started using Pocket, which can save things on a web app and to my phone. It’s been working ok, but I would like to keep track of what I read per week or month.
    Thanks again for the review!

    • Short answer: I use tags. I read a whole lot, but if I really like something, I usually share it on Twitter or Tumblr. I dilligently use tags on Tumblr (this one for reading: http://garconniere.tumblr.com/tagged/recommended%20reading) so anytime I share a quote from an article that got me thinking, it can be easily found there.

      I don’t have a cell/smart phone but I’m sure my habits will change when I get one… eventually.

      I’m also big on printing out longer reads. I find the way I consume ideas totally changes when I’m reading it on paper/in a magazine. At least four of the articles I linked up there, I first read in print and then went and hunted online to share with friends.

  2. love the format, of putting in a selfie each month (hay livejournal-esque formatting) and all the articles you posted. where do you save your articles?

  3. Pingback: 2014: Year in Review | À l'allure garçonnière

Leave a comment